goodbye sweet summer: fruit salsa & homemade cinnamon chips

As we continue to say farewell to the warmer months, I bring to you another picnic gem: the fruit salsa and cinnamon chips. Let’s just say I Facebook and Twitter stalked the party-goer who was originally responsible for introducing us (and by us, I mean this fruit salsa and I) to make sure I got the recipe correct. It’s the simplest of my picnic wrap-up recipes, but probably one of my favorites! Read on for the complete how to.

fruit_salsa

Fruit Salsa & Cinnamon Sugar Tortilla Chips

Gather:

-1 10-count package of the smaller round flour tortillas
-1/2 cup melted butter, unsalted (I started with a 1/4 cup and melted more as needed – I didn’t use the whole stick)
-3/4 cup cinnamon & sugar mixture –ratio recipe here
-16 oz container of strawberries
-2 kiwis peeled
-1 large peach
-1/8 cup sugar

Do:

-Preheat oven to 350 degrees for cinnamon chips.
-Chop all fruits into small chunks.
-Place all chopped fruit and 1/8 cup sugar in bowl and mix well. Place in fridge.
-Layout flour tortillas on a piece of parchment paper and using a pastry brush (or if like me, a spatula works well too) brush both sides with melted butter followed by a generous dusting of cinnamon sugar.
-Stack 5 tortillas on top of each other and using a pizza cutter, cut into 6 triangles.
-Repeat with additional 5 tortillas.
-Place in a single layer on a cookie sheet.
-Bake for 12-15 min. depending on how crispy you’d like.

Honestly, I could eat these all day. Literally. I made a batch, ate some nearly all of them for breakfast, then finished them off as a mid afternoon snack, and with dinner… I haven’t tried any other fruits, but I could imagine something like raspberry, pineapple, and banana to be a good combo.

What fruit combo would you go with? Cheers!

Leave a Reply

