mixing meetings with vacation

I recently was in San Diego attending a conference at the convention center.  Before the trip, I had made an embarrassingly extensive spreadsheet of all the best places to see, eat, and drink at: La Jolla Beach, Hodads, Coronado Island, Pacific Beach, etc., etc.. The sun and sand were so close!  The day before I left, I got my schedule and let’s just say it looked like I would be spending the majority of my time in the convention center.  Between meeting with customers, planned dinners, and mandatory professional development seminars, I had about 3 chunks of time (mostly in the early morning) with a span of 1-3 hours to fit in my all my extensive plans.  At the risk of looking sleep deprived and being depressed that any beach was out of the question, I did my best to get the most sightseeing out of my trip.  For anyone else at the San Diego Convention Center, here are some great things to do right outside the front doors:

Balboa Park: The$15, 8 min. cab ride was completely worth it. I went in the early morning so non of the museums or shops were open, but the views, colors, and architecture were incredible. The Spanish influence that San Diego is known for is extremely prevalent here.

Seaport Village is literally a 2 min. walk North out the rear entrance of the center.  With harbor views, unique shops such as the Tile Shop, Seaport Village Shell Co. and the Seaport Cookie Co., walk around on your lunch break and eat at the San Diego Pier Cafe.


The Gaslamp District is a great district for food and cocktails. They have something for everyone. Try: Searsucker for a twist on American food ($$) or The Hopping Pig Gastropub for beer and burgers ($). Literally every restaurant looked amazing!  Also, with a souvenir shop every 5ft, don’t forget to send a post card. They even have stamp dispensers!

Leave a Reply

