bake, butter, sugar, repeat

I swear my intentions were good. I had it all planned out, bought the ingredients, and won’t lie, was totally day dreaming of how great my coworkers would think my cooking skills are.  I was preetttyy excited to make Smitten Kitchen’s Cinnamon Brown Butter Breakfast Puffs. Then I remembered the energy bill was due. Then a friend needed a ride to the airport. Then I watched not one, but three DVR’d episodes of New Girl (obsessed by the way). By time I rolled into the kitchen, I for sure did not want to grate nutmeg and drag out a million ingredients from the pantry. Call me lazy, call me an advertisement for attention deficit disorder, call me whatever, I was left with coming up with an even easier, quicker way to whip these babies up:

The ingredients:
-1 box of yellow cake mix
-whatever the cake mix needs (usually egg, oil, water)
-6 tablespoons of butter
-1/3 cup cinnamon & sugar
-1/3 cup powdered sugar

The process:
Bake: Cake mix as instructed on box and bake in mini muffin tin until tops are springy and when you insert a toothpick, there’s no cake gunk on it. Remove from oven and set aside.
Prepare: When the mini muffins are just about done, in a small saucepan, melt the butter over medium heat and stir frequently. When you notice a brown color or brown bits on the bottom of the pan and a nuttier, richer smell, IMMEDIATELY remove from the stove and set aside. Prepare a bowl of cinnamon&sugar and a bowl of powdered sugar. Set aside.
Coating: Once the cake nuggets are warm to touch, dip first in butter, let the butter absorb in cake and roll in either the cinnamon & sugar mixture or the powdered sugar.
EAT: These are best when warm with a glass of milk or coffee!

If the brown butter concept is intimidating, these are also delicious with just melted butter and make the perfect coffee break snack!

Leave a Reply

