manly cupcake [surprisingly not an oxymoron]

An ode to my father:

A daughter needs her father to show her how to ride a bike, change oil and use the grill.
A daughter needs her father to challenge her to live a life that’s better than what society says.
A daughter needs her father to understand when she’s done something wrong and love her just the same.

A daughter needs her father to remind her just how beautiful she is and what she deserves.
A daughter needs her father to instill values that put family first, always do the right thing, have fun and be happy.
Just so you know, you made me who I am today. I love you and even though I’m 300 miles away, miss you everyday

Today was Father’s Day! Everyone says their father is the best, but really, I think mine might be. Unfortunately, living four hours from home limits how many times I can make a trip home. If I would have been home, I would have spent the day making dad’s favorite foods, going for a long walk or bike ride and ending the day with a bonfire. Instead I spent the day wishing I was home and baking. I wanted to make a “manly” cupcake to celebrate the wonderful dads and thought bacon makes everything manly, right? Surprisingly,  the maple-bacon cupcakes with chocolate buttercream frosting turned out deeeelish. -Cheers!

.

Leave a Reply

